California's Labor Commissioner issued an Opinion Letter on August 7, 2015 in response to the following inquiry: "If an employee currently works a regular 10 hour shift, and if the employer elects to proceed under a "no accrual or carry over" system in the manner specified in Labor Code section 246, subdivision (d), does the employer have to "front load" that employee at the beginning of the year with 30 hours of leave (three days at 10 hours per day) or only with 24 hours of leave on the theory that a "day" is limited to a maximum of eight hours?"
On July 13, 2015, Governor Jerry Brown signed Assembly Bill No. 304, which amended several aspects of California's paid sick leave law - the Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014.
Below is the comments submitted to the ALRB on September 9, 2015. If you have questions regarding the ALRB's access rule, the ALRB's proposed worker education rule, or any other employment and labor law issues, please call (559) 421- 7000 and ask for one of our attorneys. http://www.sagaserlaw.com/Labor-Relations-Collective-Bargaining-And-NLRB-ALRB-Proceedings.shtml